Group Members

Current members


Conor Crawford

Conor received his B.Sc. in Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology at University College Dublin in 2016 and was a recipient of a scholarship from the Irish Research Council. His project entails the design, synthesis, and development of carbohydrate–based vaccines against Cryptococcus neoformans. 


Dr. Clotilde D’Errico

Clotilde completed her Ph.D in Organic Chemistry in July 2016 under the supervision of Prof. Robert Madsen, at Technical University of Denmark, where she worked at the synthesis of glucuronic acid derivatives and their evaluation as substrates for enzymes involved in biomass degradation. In January 2017 she joined Stefan’s group as a post-doctoral researcher to work on the synthesis of carbohydrate–based vaccines against Cryptococcus neoformans.



Hao Jiang

Hao joined the group in 2014 to carry out his research project under the supervision of Professor Oscarson as part of his Master study at University College Dublin. He received his Master’s degree in Chemistry in October 2014. In January 2015, he started his PhD under the supervision of Professor Oscarson, and he was awarded a UCD-CSC scholarship in 2016. His project is to develop glycoconjugate vaccines against Moraxella cattarrhalis based on synthetic oligosaccharides, including KDO (3-deoxy-D-manno-oct-2-ulosoinc acid) chemistry. He is also interested in the synthesis of some biological active carbohydrate structures, such as sulfated glycans.


Hanyue Ma

Hanyue joined the group in 2013 to carry out her Master’s under the supervision of Professor Oscarson. After graduating in 2014, she started her Ph.D. which entails the synthesis of Lac-diNac derivatives for interaction studies with microbial and human lectins. In 2016, she was awarded a UCD-CSC scholarship to carry out this work.



Ruadhán Maher

Ruadhán received his B.Sc. in Medicinal Chemistry at University College Dublin in 2014. In September 2014, he joined the group as a Ph.D. student working on the synthesis of heparin related structures.


Dr. Orla McCabe

Earlier this year, Orla received her Ph.D. in Chemistry from University College Dublin working under the supervision of Professor Oscarson. During this time she worked on a number of projects involving (i) the synthesis and immunological evaluation of lipopolysaccharide inner core structures of Neisseria meningitidis, to determine their eligibility as vaccine candidates; (ii) the synthesis of human carbohydrate structures that are involved in the infection mechanism of Aspergillus fumigatus, to examine their ability to competitively prevent infection in cystic fibrosis patients; and (iii) the synthesis of carbohydrate structures derived from Lactococcal lactis pellicles, to elucidate the infection mechanism of invading bacteriophages. Currently, she is a Post-doctoral Research Fellow in Prof. Oscarson’s group, working on the identification of protective epitopes in the development of a synthetic glycoconjugate vaccine against Cryptococcus neoformans.

Mark Reihill

Mark completed his BSc in Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology at University College Dublin in 2016 and was awarded a SFI scholarship to join the Oscarson group. His project involves synthesising potential carbohydrate inhibitors of bacterial lectins.


Cecilia Romanò

Cecilia received her Master’s degree in Chemistry at University of Milan working under the supervision of Dr. Federica Compostella (Ronchetti’s group) on the synthesis of building blocks for the preparation of a Vi antigen capsular polysaccharide analogue. In October 2013 she was awarded a Marie Curie ITN Fellowship (Glycopharm) to pursue her Ph.D. under the supervision of Professor Oscarson. Her project consists in the synthesis of modified carbohydrate oligosaccharides for the investigation of galectin-glycans interactions and elucidation of their role in cancer cell biology.


Dr. Ziga Ude

Ziga completed his Ph.D. in Bioinorganic Medicinal Chemistry in August 2016 under the supervision of Prof. Celine J. Marmion at Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. The focus of his Ph.D. thesis was the development of dual functioning metallodrug candidates as potential anti-cancer and anti-microbial agents. After a short time spent in Astellas Pharma Ireland, Ziga joined Stefan’s Group in April 2017 as a post-doctoral researcher fellow to work on the development of carbohydrate-based drugs for the treatment of cystic fibrosis and asthma.


Abdullah Hassan

Abdullah joined the Oscarson group in September 2016, after graduating with a BSc in Medicinal Chemistry & Chemical Biology from University College Dublin. His project involves the design & synthesis of novel sialic acid-based precursors and analogues. He is also interested in the synthesis of mycothiol & related derivatives.


Dennis Bengtsson


Dr. Travis Coyle



Dr. Dong Yang

Past members

  • Dr. Maria Vetro
  • Lara Williams
  • Dr. Taigh Anderson
  • Austin McCabe, MSc
  • Dr. Maria Teresa Blázquez-Sánchez
  • Dr. Lorenzo Guazzelli
  • Dr. Sara Carillo
  • Dr. Tamara Strebel
  • Dr. Aisling Ní Cheallaigh
  • Dr. Angela Infantino
  • Dr. Fana Abraha
  • Dr. Brian Higgins
  • Dr. Nicholas Watermeyer
  • Dr. Kevin Sheerin
  • Dr. Jean-Luc Bouissière
  • Dr. Rebecca Ulc
  • Dr. Filippo Bonaccorsi
  • Dr. Martin Hollinger
  • Dr. Heather Horan
  • Dr. Anja Glinschert
  • Dr. Alessandra Cordeiro Machado
  • Dr. Florence Sallas
  • Dr. Katalin Daragics
  • Dr. Jerk Rönnols
  • Dr. Blake Dyer
  • Dr. Lien Hoa Tran
  • Dr. Lionel Tschopp
  • Ying Xi Wang, MSc